Skip to content Skip to navigation menu




€118.18   (Taxes not incl.)

Medal Size: 52mm x 52mm

The Tomás Francisco Prieto Award, General Engraver of the King Carlos III Mints, was re-launched in 1990 by the Casa de la Moneda Foundation in the "Award for a whole work" category with the aim of promoting the art of the medal among the great names of the Spanish artistic panorama, since the awarding of the prize implies the commitment of the winning artist to design a medal with a free theme. This medal is minted by the Fábrica Nacional de Moneda y Timbre-Real Casa de la Moneda, with a print run limited to 225 copper units 40 silver units and only two gold units. The cast of artists awarded with the Tomás Francisco Prieto Prize has been: 1990 Eduardo Chillida, 1991 Antoni Tapies, 1992 Antonio López García, 1993 Eduardo Arroyo, 1994 Pablo Palazuelo, 1995 Andreu Alfaro, 1996 Antonio Saura, 1997 José Luis Cuevas, 1998 Luis Gordillo, 1999 Carmen Laffón, 2000 Roberto Matta, 2001 Juan Barjola, 2002 Rafael Canogar, 2003 Antoni Clavé, 2004 Martín Chirino, 2005 Luis Feito, 2006 Albert Rafols Casamada, 2007 Pepe Hernández, 2008 Guillermo Pérez-Villalta, 2009 Eva Lootz, 2010 Alfredo Alcaín, 2011 Susana Solano, in 2012 Juan Navarro Baldeweg, in 2013 Cristina Iglesias, in 2014 Jaume Plensa, 2015 Jose Maria Sicilia, in 2016 Mitsuo Miura, and in 2017 Vicky Civera. Cristina Iglesias (San Sebastian, 1956). P.T.F.P. 2013
Information about the Medal
Year 2013  
Metal Copper  
Weight (g) 117  
Maximum Mintage (units) 225  


Size of the medal 52mmx 52mm

Sculptor and engraver, the Donostian Cristina Iglesias (San Sebastian, 1956) is one of the most international Spanish artists of the last decades. Winner of the Spanish National Plastic Arts Prize in 1999 and the Grosse Kunstpreis in Berlin in 2012, Cristina Iglesias belongs to a generation of artists who, since the 1980s, have transformed the concept of sculpture in the field of installations.
As it could not be otherwise in an artist of her quality and international prestige, her work is exhibited in the most important museums and collections around the world: Artium, Vitoria; CAPC, Bordeaux; Carré d'Art, Musée d'Art Contemporain, Nimes; Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris; Fundaçao Serralves, Porto; Fundació "La Caixa", Barcelona; Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York; Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Washington DC; IMMA, Dublin; Kunsthalle, Bern; MACBA, Barcelona; MoMA, New York; Musée de Grenoble; Guggenheim Museoa, Bilbao; MNCARS, Madrid; Tate Gallery, London, etc. In 2013, the Royal Mint awarded him the Tomás Francisco Prieto Prize, in its 24th edition.